Current Members of City Council
  Fred Dickinson, Mayor
     Thomas M. Oxley, Council-at-Large
    Anna Lou Holt, Ward I
Diane Janney, Ward I
Melissa Wilshire, Ward I
     Jeff Atha, Ward II
     Bruce Coleman, Ward II
     Don Williams, Ward II

Sign InView Entries
Tell a friend about this page
Click for Oak Hill, WV Forecast
100 Kelly Avenue, PO Box 1245 Oak Hill, WV 25901
304-469-9541 Telephone                                  304-469-2801 Fax
To:100 Kelly Avenue
Oak Hill, WV 25901
Number and Street:

The filing period for Mayor and Council candidates begins on Monday, January 12, 2015 and will end on
Saturday, January 31, 2015.

All candidates should come to the City Clerk’s office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and noon or between 1:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday – Friday to complete the necessary forms.  The filing fee is $50 for Mayoral candidates and $25 for Council candidates.  You also may obtain forms at

City residents will be electing a Mayor, three council seats in Ward 1, three council seats in Ward 2, and the council-at-large seat. All seats for election are four-year terms and the winners will take office in July, 2015.

In accordance with Section 6 of the City Charter, all members of Council and the Mayor must be citizens of the United States, qualified voters, and bona fide residents of the City and over the age of 18 years.  All members of Council representing a ward must be bona fide residents of the ward which they represent.  The required residency must be maintained throughout the term of office.  No member of Council or the Mayor shall hold during their term of office any other public office or position, including membership on any political executive committee.

Section 7 of the City Charter states “Every person who shall have resided within the territory of the City for thirty days next preceding an election held therein, and who is a qualified voter under the laws and Constitution of this State, and none other, shall be entitled to vote at any election held within the City.”

Ward 1, which is currently represented by Anna L. Holt, Diana Janney, and Melissa Wilshire includes the area west of Rt. 19 to Oyler Avenue. 

Ward 2, which is currently represented by Jeff Atha, Bruce Coleman, and Don Williams,  includes the area east of Rt. 19 and both sides of Rt. 19 north of Oyler Avenue.

The withdrawal from candidacy deadline is February 17, 2015, and the drawing for ballot position will be held on February 24, 2015.

Anyone interested in running for Mayor or City Council may contact Damita Johnson, City Clerk, for further information before the filing deadline of January 31.  People that are not sure what district they live in may also call the City Clerk’s office at 304-469-9541.

The City of Oak Hill will be holding its City Election
on Tuesday, June 9, 2015.